California Violation Code 21658 – Unsafe lane change
California Violation Code 21658
Definition of violation code 21658
California Violation Code 21658; So, you’ve got a red light ticket? Ticketbust can help you fight it.
Whenever any roadway has been divided into two or more clearly marked lanes for traffic in one direction, the following rules apply:
(a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practical entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from the lane until such movement can be made with reasonable safety.
(b) Official signs may be erected directing slow-moving traffic to use a designated lane or allocating specified lanes to traffic moving in the same direction, and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions of the traffic device.
Cost of violation code 21658
The actual cost of violation code 21658, unsafe lane change, can be much higher than just the court imposed fine for the ticket. If you just pay the traffic ticket, a point will be added to your driving record and can stay there for 3 more years. Think about it, depending on how many points you have on your driving record and who you use for your auto insurance, the true cost of this one traffic ticket on your driving record could end up being $2,700 or more over 3 years.
You may also want to keep in mind that if you have 4 points on your driving record in on year, or 6 points in 2 years, or 8 points in 3 years, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license. If this happens, you can bet it will cost you a lot more in possible lost wages, court fines, and other personal expenses due to the lack of having a valid driver’s licenses.
The estimated total court fine for violation code 21658, unsafe lane change,, will vary based on the additional county and city fees added on to the State fine for this ticket.